Say hello to my little friend

 

I had my panniculectomy surgery on Friday, February 10th. This surgery was to remove all of the excess skin on my abdomen from losing over 100 pounds. My insurance company paid for this surgery (according to my benefits) because I have maintained my weight loss for at least six months, I have had rashes, and my panis (the skin) hangs below my pubis (my pelvic bone/area). I went into surgery Friday morning not really knowing what to expect. I have spent the last 36 years of my life not knowing what my belly button looked like. I remember in the 90’s when it was SO cool to get your belly button pierced, I would dream about wearing low cut jeans and crop tops so everyone could see my cute belly button. Except my belly button was stuck between two layers of fat. Fat hanging over fat.

screen-shot-2017-02-16-at-8-32-40-pm

I sat in the prepping area daydreaming about my newly found button. What would it look like? What would my tummy look like? My entire life has been losing weight and gaining weight. Up and down like some sort of cheap carnival ride. Every time I would lose weight, the shape of my abdomen would never change. How disappointing it is to look in the mirror after losing over 100 pounds and still see these long hanging flaps of skin? That was all about to change.

My surgeon cut me from hip to hip, pulled up and pulled down. He removed almost two pounds of extra skin. I’m not quite sure what they do with it. He could have made a damn lamp with it, I don’t care, as long as it’s off my body!

Behold!  The first line is Saturday afternoon, just one day after surgery.  Everything was lose and saggy and I was a bit devastated to be honest.  Its sort of like looking at your haircut before your stylist is finished cutting. The second line is the following Thursday, so day six post-op.  The last line is tonight, exactly 12 days post of.  I think I shall name her Naomi and buy a bikini.

image1-2

5 thoughts on “Say hello to my little friend

  1. Wow, wow, and double WOW!!! I say get that girl a bikini!!! 👙 Oh my gosh!! I can’t believe the difference!! How amazing!! I can only imagine how exciting this must be for you!! I absolutely love following your story!! You are an inspiration!! Now, go get Naomi a 👙 bikini!!! You’re gonna rock it!!!! 👍🏻👍🏻👏🏻👏🏻🍾🎉🍾👏🏻👏🏻👍🏻👍🏻

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my goodness, look at you! you look fantastic! Wow, what a difference some healing time makes. It looks like your doc did a super job. How nice to not only look wonderful, but to be free of dealing with all the extra skin. Congratulations, and thanks for sharing your results.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

