Mission: Make meal prep not suck

As I mentioned in my previous post, I did some food prep for the week. I’ve never tried food prepping before but I made a preconceived hate relationship with it.  Who in their right mind wants to eat soggy broccoli with weird noodles every single day for a whole week straight? NOT ME! But, I found this food prep and I liked a couple of the recipes so I thought I’d give it a try.  Of course, now that I look for it, I somehow misplaced the link. That’s ok, I’ll break it down for you:

Baked Veggies: I cut up 1 zucchini, 1 eggplant, 3 sweet potatoes, mushrooms, and ½ pint of cherry tomatoes. I put a little bit of EVOO on my cookie sheet and covered the veggies in salt, pepper, and a few other seasons. I put them in the oven at 450 for about 45 mins and stirred them frequently. I let them cool to room temp before putting them in a glass container for the week.veggies

Quinoa: Seriously people, read the directions on the bag.

Chickpeas: OMG. I took a can of chickpeas and rinsed them and patted them dry. I then put them in the cast iron frying pan with a little EVOO, salt, cilantro, and the juicechickpeas (about 1 tbsp) from my jalapeno jar. I cooked them until they were browned. Cooled and ate them ALL. They were the best damn thing EVER. I am going to try them again with just sea salt and rosemary. I’ll keep you posted.

For dinner night one we had baked fish, the veggies, and the quinoa and it was delicious. The next day for lunch, I threw some mixed greens into a dish, added a little quinoa (about ¼ cup) cold veggies, shredded chicken,salad and some raspberry balsamic dressing and ate away. I actually had this same thing for lunch Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday and it was amazing. I didn’t even mind that the veggies were cold. I take back everything I’ve ever said about meal prep.  Those roasted veggies saved my damn life!

So I should mention that I wasn’t trying to, but by doing this, I did not have any added sugar to my diet all week. I normally sneak away to a co-workers desk because they have a drawer full of candy and I’ll grab one of those fun size snickers every now and again. I went to get one yesterday and I took one bite and it tasted funny. I gave the rest to my friend and she was like, “girl, you crazy” and at it like it was going out of style. I think because I inadvertently hadn’t had any sweets all week, my body started to not CRAVE them. OMG what is that all about?!?!?!

I also made quiche because my parents have chickens and those damn chickens produce quichelike 26 eggs a week! I put spinach, ham, and feta in them. My husband likes them because they freeze easily and you can just microwave them. I’m going to skip the ham next time.  I whipped up all the ingredients and put them in the ramekins. I baked them covered for 45 minutes and they puffed up like the stay-puffed marshmallow man! I then uncovered them and baked them until they didn’t jiggle like my thighs.

So after doing my BodyBoss Method for three weeks and eating ALL healthy for one week, I am like a new damn person. Don’t worry, my uncontrollable humor has remained intact.

 

6 thoughts on “Mission: Make meal prep not suck

  1. My biggest obstacle is veggies!! I’m not a big fan, but I would like to be! I definitely need fun, different ways to prepare them so I can start making some healthier choices!! 👍🏻🥗🥔🥗👍🏻

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my, I need to come to your house! Those food ideas look great.
    When I was working, food prep on the weekends was critical. Even chopping and cutting and getting things ready to cook is a big help. Good for you on this, healthy eating, exercise, and everything you do!
    Why am I craving chickpeas now…. ?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. All of this looks and sounds delicious. I love all kinds of veggies, but my biggest challenge is that my partner has a VERY short list of vegetables that he will even touch. It’s definitely an interesting battle… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment